GitHub

Plataforma de desenvolvimento colaborativo e codificação social

Classificação geral

4,8 /5
(3.927)
Relação qualidade/preço
4,6/5
Recursos
4,6/5
Praticidade
4,4/5
Suporte ao cliente
4,4/5

98%
dos usuários recomendam este app

3927 avaliações

Divino S.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Desenvolvimento de programas
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Praticidade, perfiormance e escalabilidade

Avaliado em 04/06/2020

Uso diariamenta com minha equipe

Vantagens

Facilidade para integrar e automatizar deploys

Desvantagens

poderia ter uma versão privada gratis....

Fernando manoel B.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: E-Learning
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de um ano
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Repositório de códigos

Avaliado em 01/01/2022

No geral, utilizo o GitHub para versionar todos meus códigos e tem me servido muito bem em todas as funcionalidades necessárias.

Vantagens

O Versionamento do GitHub é a melhor opção para controle de software atualmente. Além de repositório de códigos de programação, o GitHub é uma excelente rede social para programadores.

Desvantagens

Até o momento não encontrei alguma coisa que eu ainda não tenha gostado nessa rede social.

Márcio D.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Automação industrial
  • Porte da empresa: 51-200 funcionários
  • Usado Semanal durante Mais de um ano
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Programar com eficiência e transparência

Avaliado em 29/12/2021

Minha experiência com o GitHub é muito positiva. Com ele consigo desenvolver projetos de códigos em conjunto com minha equipe de maneira transparente e eficiente, muito bom!

Vantagens

O que mais gosto no software é a funcionalidade de versionamento dos códigos, sendo possível verificar todo o histórico de modificações e analisar cada alteração realizada nos códigos após realizar novos pushes.
A possibilidade de pesquisar e ter acesso aos códigos públicos de outros usuários torna o uso do github indispensável para qualquer programador.

Desvantagens

Tive um pouco de dificuldade no início da utilização do software, pois achei complicado aprender os termos e funções, imagino que tutoriais mais acessíveis em vários idiomas seria uma boa para que não aconteça isso com novos usuários.

Gabriel M.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Semanal durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Review Github de um Programador

Avaliado em 30/08/2021

Melhor plataforma, de Desenvolvimento de Softwares, Sites, Etc...

Vantagens

A sua versão Free, é extremamente Eficaz. Até pequenos, médios e Grandes Programador e Empresas, conseguem desenvolver dentro da Plataforma.

Desvantagens

Praticamente não existe um contra, com o Github porém quando é necessário Reportar um usuário que quebra o TOS, do Github ou demora muito para ser Respondido, ou não é Respondido.

Luis carlos C.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

I can't see myself working without it

Avaliado em 13/12/2021

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and almost anyone that uses it will probably have the same opinion.

Vantagens

GitHub is probably the single most important tool in our development team. Everything you can think about source control tools it does it and does it well. We have a lot of integrations hooked to it, so it also helps us with more than source control. Besides of that, it is easy to use and being almost universal at this point it means we usually don't have to train new developers on how to use it.

Desvantagens

Nitpicking here, but the mobile version might improve a bit. I know code review is something you usually don't do on a phone, but some emergency happens from time to time and you just need to approve / request something and those little interactions could be easier. Still, that's the only thing and it is incredibly far from being a deal breaker.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

GitHub is easier to deploy across the organization. Plus, almost everybody already knows how to use it, so it saves a lot of time on adapting to it.
Avaliador Verificado
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Best Version Control So far

Avaliado em 14/12/2021

We use GitHub to manage more than 5 projects which are in production and normally more than 8 smaller projects which provide smaller integrations to our main systems.

Overall, GitHub has made collaboration smoother and easier beyond imagination. I have been using it since my Junior Years in University to till date. I love the integrations which has helped us to automate the majority of deployment , tests, and updates.

I give it 10/10

Vantagens

It provides flexibility to manage multiple projects with multiple users and different permission and have as many versions of the same project we need. I can't even imagine how we would be managing the project without Github.

In addition to basic collaboration and version control, the CICD and Action chains is one of the topmost used feature which has let us build a automated pipeline from Development to production.

Desvantagens

I am not the biggest fan of the UI on the website. I feel like its less organized then BitBucket. But overall I still prefer GitHub among all the version control tools.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

We liked the price and the number of features.
Avaliador Verificado
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 51-200 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante 6 a 12 meses
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 7.0 /10

Good for Developers, not so good for Marketing and Newbies

Avaliado em 21/01/2022

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by our devs to report all our issues through this tool. However we simultaneously were using Notion for our Marketing Sprints and to track all tasks. So it was rather a really exhausting task to copy issues from one tool to another and link them. In the end our Marketing Team decided to not use Github anymore and track everything through Notion, as it was the main platform for our daily to-dos

I know from our devs and my colleagues who actually continue working in Github, that they really love this tool. I just find it really confusing.
We still use it in our company for IT-issues with our IT-admin, which is totally fine. But I don't recommend it for Marketing unless you know your way around this tool.

Vantagens

It was a great tool for our Devs. They are still working with it on a daily basis to track their issues and bugs etc.

Desvantagens

I found it hard to navigate and understand the full functionality of this tool. I don't think it is easy to use, for someone without experience and any guidance.

Jorge M.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 501-1.000 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de um ano
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Avaliado em 20/11/2021

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Vantagens

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Desvantagens

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para escolher o GitHub

GitHub is more widely used around the software development. It has made giant leaps to catch up to Atlassian integrations like creating tickets inside of github and stuff like that.

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

It provided the overall best experience and pricing.
Bimal S.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

A must need tool for Code development

Avaliado em 17/12/2021

Vantagens

Github plays a significant role in my day-to-day code develpment. Being a web developer, I frequently need to find bugs in my code, Through the use of version control system in github, I can easily switch my code to previous stage in which my code was running fine and debug the code. This has helped me a lot to enhance my coding experience ultimately leading to my bright professional career.

Desvantagens

Although Github has fully tried to give all the features required to developers, there are few things that I like least about this software. One thing is I can't upload folders directly to github using its website and other is that github only offers to host only one static website under my github username.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

Github is the most popular tool for code development and management and has good UI too so I chose Github over other alternative products.
Anthony R.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Hardware
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de um ano
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

An absolute must have for any developer

Avaliado em 03/12/2021

Using GitHub has allowed us to centralise the distribution of our code to remote working developers and ensure that everyone is working from the latest version.

We have been able to maintain an offsite copy of our code so that we are not dependent on a single developer keeping their sytem backed up.

Vantagens

We already used Git locally to source control our code and getting GitHub to integrate with it was quick and simple with almost no impact on our normal processes.

Having GitHub in place allows us to easily share source code amongst our developers and give us piece of mind that we have an offsite backup of the code when needed.

Desvantagens

The only thing I dislike about GitHub is that some of their own integrations with IDEs can be difficult to use and this often means using 3rd Party plugins.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

GitHub offers more benefits and features to users on the free plan than the others do on their free plan.
Danish R.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços de informação
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

GitHub is best for portfolio

Avaliado em 09/12/2021

personally, I have a great experience with Github I used it for myself and for many peeps a lot, I got a lot from this software and I am happy to love to recommend this software

Vantagens

The best software is used for myself and my client, it is best for showing your previous record, A professional way to find some better place in professional life

Desvantagens

It Lil a bit tough for non-technical people, they cant use it to show their work to an audience. I must say make it easy for no tech people also

Mohamed K.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 201-500 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

GitHub Review

Avaliado em 25/12/2021

it is a good experience without facing any issues.

Vantagens

Integration with Code Editors Like Visual Studio and Visual Studio Code
Easy To Use through WebSite or Desktop Application
Can Make Branches easily
Creating Teams and controlling them very easily
Copy Code between repositories very easily

Desvantagens

History of the Code Does not show Time only Shows Dates.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab

Razões para escolher o GitHub

More Features and More Stability

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

More Features and More Stability and Friendly to Use
Gabriel G.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Most reliable version control service

Avaliado em 16/12/2021

Vantagens

It's reliable, easy to use and provide all the tools to manage the permissions of team members

Desvantagens

The UI sometimes is slow and take time to conclude easy tasks

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab e Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

It provides better features than competitors.
Avaliador Verificado
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Bens de consumo
  • Porte da empresa: 201-500 funcionários
  • Usado Mensal durante 6 a 12 meses
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

The industry standard for coders and developers

Avaliado em 11/01/2022

GitHub is our primary open source software developer repository. Bottom line, it is an essential tool for large dev teams and programmers. There are other options with more features that come at a price. However, all the essential tools to effectively run a web dev team can be found in GitHub.

Vantagens

Collaboration tools and tracking revisions within GitHub are among the best in the business. Essential integration with our primary coding platform: Visual Studio Code is painless.

Desvantagens

There is very little wrong with GitHub. As new needs emerge, GitHub seems to rollout new features to keep up. Each update is solid with little down time.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

For the price and open source solution, GitHub was the easiest and most economical platform to deploy
Fayeba S.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Produção audivisual
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

The best source controller

Avaliado em 20/11/2021

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Vantagens

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Desvantagens

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Jose V.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

The easier source control app

Avaliado em 07/10/2021

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

Vantagens

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

Desvantagens

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab

Razões para escolher o GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive. In the other hand, if you are going to pay for any GitLab plan I think is better buy it on GitHub becase it has more features.

Software anterior

Bitbucket e GitLab
Dushyant P.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 11-50 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Easy to use and familiar for small teams, where cross product integration is not a priority

Avaliado em 20/09/2021

We use Github to maintain our private platform code repositories, that our team uses, as well as our open source repos to build the community, which is a major factor for us choosing Github. Unlike other competitors, Github has focused on its core offering of source code management and easy collaboration, and thus, avoided unnecessary platform weight. For teams where staying up to date with the open source world is a necessity or an advantage, Github is hands down the best, given trending issues and repos are very very informative. Community support is also much better with Github

Vantagens

Familiarity is the first word that comes to mind, for a small, fast output team. We wanted to focus on delivery, not the process and Github provided what we needed - source code management, collaboration, project management the easiest, and the cheapest. While its competitors like Bitbucket have sought to target the enterprise market and focus on large scale corporate projects, Github is much more small team friendly as there's no added baggage of figuring out the platform, and rather, we can just focus on doing what we came to do. Github actions suited our build needs fairly well, and integration with solutions like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Project management is simple and easy. The open source friendly principle helps in easy access to new and coming code content aligned with our interests to explore and use in our own applications and products, something that lacks in other SCM products

Desvantagens

A consistent documentation system like Confluence would be really helpful. As teams grow larger, they shift to alternative solutions since Github doesn't have enough functionality to manage tasks and code across the larger team, which can be changed by bringing in features and improving existing ones. Integration support can be expanded rather than keeping it limited to inhouse products.

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

Cost effective, focused on the bare essentials - product delivery over processes, open source friendliness
Avaliador Verificado
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

GitHub: The mothership of source control

Avaliado em 05/08/2021

GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of changing it because it meets more than what you would expect from it. It even has an in-built GUI for people who are not very familiar with Git. I have used it for contributing to open source projects, for keeping track of my own projects, when working with teams and for pipelining the repository to deployment as well. Overall my experience with GitHub on all occasions has been very smooth.

I have faced only one small hiccup where a repo I created was not created properly and I could not access it at all. When I contacted support, they replied within the same day and sorted it out. Considering everything I would say that GitHub is the best for source control and its paid versions are very well worth the price.

Vantagens

GitHub has so many features and if you are a college student you can easily apply for their educational pack and receive many free packages from other software and free access to GitHub Pro for as long as you are a student. This pack comes with free domains, a key for JetBrains IDEs, Canva Pro and other packages to assist you in application development.

In addition to the free services provided by GitHub for college students, it also provides many functionalities for general users. You could easily integrate your codebase to services such as DigitalOcean and Heroku to create pipelines and automatically deploy changes. No more tiresome setting up of servers and bothering with them for every deployment.

GitHub also has the functionality of creating pull requests, issues and assigning issues to people. They also have GitHub Projects where you can create Kanban boards and assign tasks to the team members. Pull requests can also be reviewed and comments can be added for specific lines.

This is also the home for many open source projects that you can find and contribute. Most companies view your GitHub profile to get an idea of your projects and how you have contributed and worked on projects.

Desvantagens

There really isn't a major feature that you could point out and say is bad. The only downside I would say is, although they do have a free tier, the number of private repositories you could have in that tier is very limited.

Many people would say that the commands are hard to get a hang of but this isn't a downside of GitHub, the commands are by Git. Git is inherently complex and to be honest, GitHub does a very good job at trying to simplify it.

Avaliador Verificado
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Publicidade e marketing
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Good backup and sync solution for solo work

Avaliado em 11/06/2021

For solo work I use GitHub to sync my work across multiple workstations and as a backup solution.

A few of my project are open source, and thanks to GitHub I've been able to collaborate with people who I wouldn't have met otherwise.

Vantagens

It's the go-to solution for hosting open source projects. Mostly everyone has an account there, reducing the friction for collaboration.

For solo work it's a free and reliable solution allowing me to sync my repositories across multiple computers.

Desvantagens

When collaborating it can be a bit tricky sometimes to share a link to a specific line in a specific file, and the API can be a bit hard to use sometimes.

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket e GitLab

Software anterior

Apache Subversion
Avash K.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços e tecnologia da informação
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Avaliado em 04/06/2021

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Vantagens

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github.

I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier.

I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Desvantagens

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.
Emiliano P.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Serviços de informação
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Semanal durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

One of the best git services out there

Avaliado em 13/05/2021

We use it to share a repository with a Unity project (games for mobile and PC mostly), and it's really been helpful for us since our struggles to collaborate due to Unity nuances in particular, helped us to learn how to build better code that's maintainable on a team, this things are often overlooked on one-man projects.

By Github being free and world renown it's quite easy that colleagues already have an account, thus making it easy for us to give them access for a code review, game-jams or collaborations in general.

Vantagens

Github is world renown, it's been making my life easier for years. We mainly use with colleagues or friends to work on game development projects, and it's easy to use even for non-coders since they include a Windows and MacOS GUI out of the box, and it's compatible with any git manager out there. They recently added the ability to have free private repositories, which are great.

Desvantagens

The fork and pull request process designed to propose changes on third party repositories seems a bit troublesome to me in particular, but I understand why they did it, and I just got used to it.

Omar eduardo A.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 5.001-10.000 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Great for teaching coding classes!

Avaliado em 15/05/2021

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Vantagens

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes.

To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off.

If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features.

For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Desvantagens

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems.

For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Alternativas consideradas

Dropbox Business, Bitbucket e Apache Subversion

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.
Abdelmadjid H.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

An essential tool for any developer

Avaliado em 27/02/2021

GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

Vantagens

GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

Desvantagens

There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket e GitLab

Razões para escolher o GitHub

We made the switch when GitHub offered free private Git repositories, in a time when Bitbucket did not.

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

Private Git repositories and the package registry service (which allows private packages). GitHub has also become the industry standard and its APIs are integrated to more platforms.
Pawan P.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Software
  • Porte da empresa: Profissional autônomo
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Best web version control

Avaliado em 01/03/2021

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Vantagens

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Desvantagens

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Ankit P.
Classificação geral
  • Setor: Gestão da educação
  • Porte da empresa: 2-10 funcionários
  • Usado Diariamente durante Mais de dois anos
  • Fonte da avaliação

Classificação geral

  • Relação qualidade/preço
  • Praticidade
  • Suporte ao cliente
  • Probabilidade de recomendação 10.0 /10

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Avaliado em 07/10/2020

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Vantagens

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Desvantagens

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Alternativas consideradas

GitLab

Razões para mudar para o GitHub

Various features offered by the product which provides collaboration, version control, access control etc